[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index][Subject Index][Author Index]

Dinosaur Genera List corrections #58 (fwd)



Date: Wed, 4 Sep 1996 12:11:54 -0400
From: Dinogeorge@aol.com
To: mrowe@indiana.edu
Cc: Joelmcvey@aol.com, GaryKerr@aol.com, DPterosaur@aol.com,
    Thomas_R_HOLTZ@umail.umd.edu, lucas@darwin.nmmnh-abq.mus.nm.us,
    mc7b+@andrew.cmu.edu, RaptorRKC@aol.com, Dan_Chure@nps.gov,
    B.Molnar@mailbox.uq.oz.au, jmorris@direct.ca, bervoets@nrc.nl,
    dtanke@dns.magtech.ab.ca, FAdams@aol.com, MNHPB018@sivm.si.edu,
    Tamira@aol.com, rsulliva@sparky.cmic.state.pa.us,
    philipcur@mcd.gov.ab.ca, awk2@columbia.edu, Dinogeorge@aol.com,
    lblosser@eznets.canton.oh.us, Brittpaleo@aol.com, tlford@ix.netcom.com,
    dale_russell@ncsu.edu, bh480@scn.org, ssampson@acl.nyit.edu,
    nabardet@ccr.jussieu.fr, saur@midway.uchicago.edu, DinoDonL@aol.com,
    tiger@arn.net
Subject: Dinosaur Genera List corrections #58

This message was submitted by Dinogeorge@aol.com to list dinosaur@usc.edu. If
you forward it back to the list, it will be distributed without the paragraphs
above the dashed line. You may edit the Subject: line and the text of the
message before forwarding it back.

If you edit the messages you receive into a digest, you will need to remove
these paragraphs and the dashed line before mailing the result to the list.
Finally, if you need more information from the author of this message, you
should be able to do so by simply replying to this note.

----------------------- Message requiring your approval ----------------------
Sender: Dinogeorge@aol.com
Subject: Dinosaur Genera List corrections #58

Well, Tiger Publications has brought out the first issue of _Dinosaur
Discoveries_, and a very nice job it is. It's a 16-page newszine with a
healthy ratio of information to advertising space and timely articles on all
kinds of new dinosaurs and other Mesozoic vertebrates. There is even a tiny
contribution by yours truly. Costs $5 from Tiger Pubs at PO Box 8759,
Amarillo, TX 79114-8759. Published bimonthly; subs are $25 in the US, higher
outside. For full details, e-mail tiger@arn.net.

Naturally, I spotted a few misspelled names (heh, heh), as well as first
publication of the name of the new Isle of Wight theropod, in a review by the
dinosaur list's own Darren Naish. The name was first used, apparently, on
British television in a dinosaur show (so says Darren), but that wasn't a
published reference; this one is.

Accordingly, add

Neovenator Naish, 1996 [nomen nudum]

to the Dinosaur Genera List. The genera count increases to 794.

The type species is _Neovenator salerii_, by the way.