[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index][Subject Index][Author Index]

Flugsaurier 2010 1st circular

Third International Symposium on Pterosaurs
5-10 August, 2010
Beijing, China

Pterosaurs are amongst the most fascinating and enigmatic of all extinct 
creatures. Thanks to some spectacular fossil finds in recent years our 
understanding of the palaeobiology and evolutionary history of these ‘flying 
reptiles’ has seen several dramatic advances. Some of the most important 
discoveries, including the first eggs with embryos, have been made in China 
where the Late Jurassic/Early Cretaceous is currently producing new species of 
pterosaurs at a faster rate than anywhere else in the world. In recognition of 
this the Third International Symposium on Pterosaurs, “Flugsaurier 2010”, will 
be held in China in August 2010. This will be the third international pterosaur 
symposium and follows successful meetings held in France in 2001 and Germany in 

The meeting will be organized by the Geological Survey of China, sponsored by 
the Institute of Geology, Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences, and 
co-sponsored by the Bureau of Fossil Protection, Liaoning Provincial Department 
of National Land Resources, and the People's Government of Yixian. 

The meeting is planned for 5th-10th August, 2010. Talks, posters, at least one 
open discussion session and (subject to availability) examination of specimens, 
are planned for the first three days of the meeting. This will be followed by 
an optional three day field excursion to view exposures of the Jehol Group and 
exhibitions/collections of fossils from this sequence which has yielded more 
than 100 specimens of pterosaurs in the last 10 years. All those interested in 
pterosaurs and the communities and environments in which they lived are 
encouraged to attend. 

1. Meeting aims:

As in previous symposia this meeting is intended to cover all aspects of 
pterosaur palaeobiology and the world in which they lived:
(a) The origin and evolution of pterosaurs
(b) Taxonomy, systematics and phylogeny
(c) Palaeobiology including anatomy, functional morphology and ontogeny
(d) Taphonomy, sedimentology and environments of preservation
(e) Ecosystems and contemporaneous fauna and flora

2. Meeting Programme:

(a) Academic sessions (3 days):
Oral presentations:  These will consist of key-note lectures (45 minutes) and  
talks (30 minutes). These times include at least 5 minutes for discussion. 
Posters: There will be at least one poster session (further details will be 
given in the second circular)
Language: English

(b) Field excursion (3 days):
North-east China. This will include visits to field sites, exhibitions and 
collections primarily in Liaoning Province. 

3. Abstracts and Symposium Volumes:

An abstract volume will be prepared for distribution at the meeting. The 
abstract submission deadline is March 31st, 2010. No abstracts will be accepted 
after this date. Abstracts of up to two printed pages (A4) are preferred, but 
longer abstracts will be considered. Preferred formats are “Word” for text 
files and “JPG” for figures. A symposium volume is planned for publication in 
2011 and will be open to both attendees and non-attendees. The manuscript 
deadline will be December 31st, 2010 (further details will be given in the 
second circular).

4. Expression of interest/information:

If you are interested in attending this meeting please send us an expression of 
interest indicating your plans to attend the academic session and the field 
trip, possible talk/poster title(s) and likelihood that you will be 

All correspondence (e-mail preferred), including any questions or suggestions, 
should be sent to Lü Junchang and Dave Unwin

Lü Junchang
Institute of Geology
Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences
Beijing 100037
e-mail: Yilong2010@gmail.com  or: lujc2008@126.com

Tel: 0086-1068999707 (0), 00-86-13717801392 

Dave Unwin
Department of Museum Studies
University of Leicester
103-105 Princess Road East
Leicester LE1 2LG
e-mail: dmu1@leicester.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 116 252 3947

5. Symposium Committees:

(a) Steering committee
Honorary Chairman: Wang Min
Chairman: Zhong Ziran
Vice Chairmen: Chen Xiaoning, Bai Xingbi, Dong Shuwen, Hou Zengqian
Secretary-general: Gao Jinxi
Vice-secretary-general: Yao Peiyi, Ji Qiang
Committee members: Ye Jianliang, Liu Fengshan, Ji Shu’an, Lü Junchang 

(b) Academic committee:
Chairman:Unwin, David (UK)
Committee members: Bennett, Chris (USA), Andres Brian (USA), Ji Qiang (China), 
Ji Shu’an (China), Lü Junchang (China)
Academic Secretaries: Ji Qiang, Ji Shu’an, Lü Junchang, Lee Yuong-Nam, Dave Hone